DICK'S Sporting Goods Open Earns President's Award for Second Time in a Row

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. – The Champions Tour announced today the best tournaments of the 2013 Champions Tour season.

Four specific categories were recognized – the President’s Award, the Players Award, the Tournament Business Affairs Award and the Outstanding Achievement Award.

Mike Stevens, President of the Champions Tour, announced for the second consecutive year the DICK’S Sporting Goods Open, staged at En-Joie Golf Course in Endicott, N.Y., as the recipient of the President’s Award, a most prestigious award which captures the criteria of all the awards plus the intangibles that make it stand out from the rest.

“The DICK’S Sporting Goods Open was an exceptional event in 2012 and again elevated its performance and stature on the Champions Tour in 2013,” said Stevens. “Tournament officials embraced the distinction of their champion becoming the 1,000th winner in Champions Tour history and celebrated the significant occasion. Their tournament-week activities, including the concert, are exceptional and everyone involved with the event should take great pride in how they continue to improve and grow in stature each year. It’s an event that is very deserving of the President’s Award.”

Bart Bryant will always be remembered as the 1,000th winner in Champions Tour history following his victory at the DICK’S Sporting Goods Open. Bryant, who was presented the trophy by Don January, the first official winner of a Champions Tour event, was also the fourth of five rookies to win in 2013.

“Winning this prestigious award for a second consecutive year shows the commitment of DICK’S Sporting Goods not only to the tournament, but to the Champions Tour as a whole,” said Tournament Director John Karedes. “We’re ecstatic and proud to win and we could never achieve this without the efforts of our sponsors, volunteers, staff and fans.”

The Players Award went to the Nature Valley First Tee Open at Pebble Beach. The tournament, which celebrated its 10th year in 2013, has “the best of everything” for players, sponsors and spectators, resulting in excellent galleries in spectacular surroundings at Pebble Beach Golf Links and the Del Monte Golf Course in Monterey, Calif. Kirk Triplett won the event for the second successive year but the highlight for the professionals is teaming up with outstanding young representatives from The First Tee chapters from all around the country in this unique competition.

The Champions Tour Tournament Business Affairs Award went to the Boeing Classic for the second year in a row. The T.B.A. team rates and grades every tournament in several different categories that determine what makes a successful event, and the Boeing Classic, played at TPC Snoqualmie Ridge in Seattle, Wash. for the 9th consecutive year earned the highest overall score. Rookie John Riegger won his first Champions Tour event in his fifth start and was the fifth rookie to win on Tour in 2013 in a tournament that always engages and encourages the involvement of the local community.

The Outstanding Achievement Award was won by the Shaw Charity Classic which excelled with inspired initiatives to promote the event and thank the residents of Calgary, such as the “Shootout at Canyon Meadows” for first responders after the devastating floods in Calgary in June. Hockey Canada team members were also involved in activities preceding the tournament. Following the inaugural Shaw Charity Classic, won in record-setting fashion by recently crowned Rookie of the Year Rocco Mediate, officials announced a record $2.27 million donation to charitable beneficiaries in the region.

The Champions Tour Tournament Advisory Council presents the Bruno Award annually to an individual judged to have made special and outstanding contributions to the Champions Tour. The award is named in honor of Brian ‘Bruno’ Henning, the former Vice President of the Champions Tour and Southern Africa Golf Hall of Fame member. This year, Jim Kelly, who was once identified as the ‘Voice of the Senior PGA Tour’, is the recipient of the Bruno Award. Kelly was a sports announcer for multiple sports over a 40-year period and was the host/commentator for ESPN during the several years the network carried Champions Tour broadcasts.