More Commitments

Dick’s Sporting Goods Open Announces Commitments

Past U.S. Open Champion Corey Pavin Returns to En-Joie

VESTAL N.Y. – The Dick’s Sporting Goods Open is proud to announce the following player commitments to the 2012 Tournament Field. Reigning Senior U.S. Open Champion Olin Browne will be joined by Mark Calcavecchia, Jay Haas, and Fred Funk. Making their inaugural Dick’s Sporting Goods Open appearances are Past Ryder Cup Captain Corey Pavin and current Charles Schwab Cup Point Leader Michael Allen. The 2012 event will be held the week of August 13th – 19th at the En-Joie Golf Course in Endicott, NY.

“The players are thrilled to return to Endicott and we are thrilled to have them,” said Tournament Director John Karedes. “It will be great to welcome back Olin, Calc, Jay and Fred,” said Karedes, but he added it “will be special after a long wait to have Corey and Michael become a part of our field”.

Olin Browne led wire to wire in late July to capture the U.S. Senior Open at Inverness in Toledo, OH. He opened with a 7-under-par 64 (lowest first-round score by a winner in the event), added a 6-under-par 65 to his scorecard in the third round and then held off Mark O'Meara in the final round for a three-stroke victory. Olin capped his tournament by draining a 30-foot birdie putt at the 72nd hole and became the fifth player to secure his first Champions Tour victory at the U.S. Senior Open. With the win, he joined Ron Streck, Keith Fergus, Tom Lehman and Gary Hallberg as the only players to have won on all three Tours.

Calcavecchia, who made his Champion Tour debut at the 2010 Dick’s Sporting Goods Open, won his first Champions Tour event last August at the Boeing Classic. Despite winning just once, Mark turned in a stellar first full season on the Champions Tour, earning the Byron Nelson Trophy for lowest stroke average (69.04) and finishing second in official earnings, with more than $1.8 million. Calcavecchia made a late run at the Charles Schwab Cup before coming up just 74 points shy of Tom Lehman. He led the Champions Tour in top-10 finishes, with 15 of his 22 starts.

Corey Pavin, the 1995 U.S. Open Champion and 2010 Ryder Cup Captain for the United States will be returning to Endicott for the first time since 1998. Corey currently ranks 4th in Charles Schwab Cup Points with his first Champions Tour Victory coming in a playoff at the Allianz Championship in February.

Michael Allen, last week’s Encompass Insurance Pro-Am of Tampa Bay winner has also committed to the Dick’s Sporting Goods Open for the first time as a Champions Tour player. Allen currently leads the Charles Schwab Cup point race with 4 top-10 finishes in 6 events.

We are also thrilled to announce the commitment of two B.C. Open Past Champions! Jay Haas and Fred Funk both finished first in the PGA TOUR event in 1981 and 1996, respectively. Jay Haas is the reigning Champion of the 3M Championship. In 2011 he finished in second place at both the Nature Valley First Tee Open at Pebble Beach and the Charles Schwab Cup Championship. He has an impressive 15 Champions Tour victories and 9 PGA TOUR victories under his belt. Funk has placed in the Top 25 in 3 of the 4 events he has played this year. Fred had his 2011 Champions Tour season cut short by injuries. He underwent the first of his two surgeries in early August. As Dr. Tom Graham repaired a torn ligament in his left thumb at the Cleveland Clinic and three days afterward he had surgery in Jacksonville, FL, to repair scar tissue in his right knee. He earned four top-10 finishes before being shelved.

The event, traditionally contested in June, will be played in August this year to allow the En-Joie Golf Course more time to recover from the devastating floods that affected our region last September.

Weekly ticket packages are available at a discount price of $50 through July 31st and are available at Dick’s Sporting Goods stores and the Tournament Office, 1901 Vestal Parkway. For additional information about these events, please call the Tournament Office at (607) 205-1500.

Please visit for 2012 Sponsorship opportunities.